Gut Bugs

NYT– Another big story. A lot of research has been going on lately looking at the bacteria that live inside us (that we depend on to survive). There’s a huge amount of variation from person to person (which makes it a whole new field to look at for causes of health issues), but it turns out that people’s gut bacteria fit pretty neatly into 3 or so types- just like blood type.

I think a lot of big stuff is going to come from this area of research- maybe even an expanation for why all my money goes to my dentist despite my best efforts, while others I know spend all day sipping on soda and forgetting to brush and yet have never had a cavity… I think it’s very likely the answer lies with those single-celled critters that live in my mouth. The jerks.

Leave a Reply

